Epworth Elementary teacher Tammy Van Cleve and Peosta Elementary teacher Lisa Dallefeld have been named Tom and Brenda Wickham Educational Service Award Winners for 2019.

Van Cleve is a third-grade teacher at Epworth Elementary. A graduate of Western Dubuque High School, she is the fifth WD graduate to win the award.

Van Cleve is a graduate of the University of Northern Iowa and is in her 26th year of teaching at WD. Her former colleague, Diane Zismer, remembers Van Cleve’s dedication and commitment to her students as well as her many positive qualities and enthusiastic personality.

“Tammy stepped up to cover my IEPs when I spent one-and-a-half months in Iowa City with my critically ill father,” Zismer said.

“It’s a great honor to receive this from the Wickham family. Tom Wickham was my principal many years ago. I’ve known the Wickhams my entire school career, as a student and as a teacher in the district. I truly appreciate their commitment to Western Dubuque Schools. They are a great family and have done a lot for us.”

Van Cleve said she loves her role as a third grade teacher. “What I like about third graders is their excitement to learn. They love to be engaged. It’s easy to connect with third graders.”

Dallefeld, a reading specialist, is in her 20th year of teaching in the district. A graduate of Western Illinois University, Dallefeld is known as a teacher who is positive and loving toward her students. She is credited with having a positive impact on the culture of Peosta Elementary.

“I am shocked and honored to win the award,” she said. “I love working with the kids and seeing their growth in reading every year. It’s a great district, a very positive district to be a part of.”

The Wickham award was established by the eight Wickham children in recognition of their parents’ 55 years as educators in the Western Dubuque School District. The award is presented annually to a WD staff member from the schools the Wickham children attended, who exemplifies excellence and commitment to students and education. Two $1,000 awards were presented this year. The winners were chosen by past Wickham award winners.