Maquoketa Valley’s Board of Education met for its regular monthly session, in the high school library, Dec. 20.

Career and Technical Education teachers CeAnn Palmer, Karla Downs, Kurt Palmer and Haylee Lau presented to the board.

CeAnn Palmer addressed the board, sharing information on the district’s school-to-work program.

“We’ve started some business tours and our goal is to keep an eye on local labor trends. We network with businesses, so when we go back to the classroom we can share the processes with the students,” Palmer said. “We’ve asked local businesses to send us their current openings. Businesses want our students to know they can have a great career right out of high school.

“We want to extend beyond the classroom. This is our fourth year of school to work, and this last fall we had 34 students enroll in pre-employment strategies. Next semester we’ll have 11 students going out into the workplace with local employers, so we’ll be supporting the local labor market.”

The board approved the 2022-23 SBRC (School Board Review Committee) modified allowable growth for dropout prevention. approving the maximum amount allowed by state law ($186,138). The board also approved the Delaware County Hazard Mitigation Plan.

Building principals Troy Osterhaus, Brenda Becker and Tiersa Frasher reported to the board.

Osterhaus discussed the process of securing a speaker for the Academic Excellence banquet in May and told the board the first semester will end Jan. 14, with the scheduling process for the 2022-23 school year on the horizon.

Becker discussed literacy initiatives, while Frasher shared information on her building’s Challenge to Change Yoga Program and the school’s kindness initiative.

In personnel matters, the Board approved the hiring of Emily Ludovissy as head high school softball coach and accepted the resignations of Fall Music Director Matt DeVore, Fall Musical Director Debbie DeVore and Assistant Football Coach Eric Conner.

The board approved updated policy 401.7 on employee travel compensation. If a school district vehicle is not available, employees will be reimbursed at the Internal Revenue Service standard mileage rate of $0.45 per mile.

In other business, three open enrollment requests into the district and one open enrollment out were approved.