Political newcomer Jeff Jacque will be the next mayor of Dyersville after defeating former mayor Alvin Haas in the Nov. 2 city election.

Of the 1,251 votes cast in Dubuque County and 82 in Delaware County, Jacque garnered 966 to Haas’ 365.

Following his win, Jacque echoed what he told voters on the campaign trail, that he is going to strive toward unity in the community and the continuation of already-made progress.

“I’m looking forward to building on the strong foundation that Dyersville currently has,” Jacque said. “I’m new to the political world, but I’m going to try my best to be a good mayor for all the citizens in the community.”

As for the support he received, Jacque said that left him feeling a bit surprised.

“I was a little overwhelmed by the number of voters that went to the polls and I appreciate each and every one of their votes.”

In the race to fill the Dyersville City Council At-Large seat, incumbent Tom Westhoff also won a decisive victory over challenger Ashley Wohlers.

Of the 1,228 votes cast in Dubuque County and 81 in Delaware County, Westhoff tallied 1,002 to Wohler’s 307.

In the three-way race to represent Dyersville’s Ward 3, incumbent Mike Oberbroeckling bested challengers Ben Ellison and Manessa Gaul. Oberbroeckling secured 413 votes to Ellison’s 70 and Gaul’s 47.

Incumbent Jim Gibbs, running unopposed in Ward 1, received 77 votes in Delaware County and 305 in Dubuque County to secure another term on the council.