The recipients of Maquoketa Valley’s Excellence in Academics awards include: front from left, Kaela Clemen, Kaitlyn Nolan, McKenna Thompson, Haley Ronnebaum, Chantel Crowley, Ava Goldsmith, and Maya Smith; second row, Jenavieve LeGassick, Kennedy Rausch, Saige Hunt, Taylor Schmuecker, McKenna Bush, Kelsey Hoeger, Morgan Clemen, Lanni Beaman, Rachael Hoefer, and Kayla Flanagan; back row, Guest Speaker Sara Kintzle, Cadence Freiburger, Anna Deutmeyer, Ella Mensen, Carter Klaren, Zachary Mineart, Brady Eike, Tyler Hoeger, Colin Smith, Derrick Mohr and Dylan Knipper. Not Pictured, George Livingston.

Maquoketa Valley honored its academic best at the 16th annual Excellence in Academics Recognition Banquet May 3. The event recognizes Maquoketa Valley students who have achieved high scores in their studies in at least one of several possible ways.