The Maquoketa Valley Individual Events Speech Teams, first row, left to right, Logan Johnson, Noah DeVore, Andrew Kloser, Preston Roling and Brock Trenkamp; second row, Amanda Mohr, Ashtyn Porter, Paige Winter, Madeline Gellersen, Amaya Hunt, Kylie Chesnut, Kendra Hillers, Molly Anderegg and Carissa Saber; third row, Allie Dunn, McKenna Thompson, Saige Hunt, Abbie Sheehy, Emma Beitz, Keziah Ambundo, Carlie Lewin, Paige Panosh and Matthew Brehm; fourth row, Kaela Clemen, Anna Deutmeyer, Erin Knipper, Emilee Supple, Emma Ritz, Josie Teymer and Katilyn Nolan; back row, George Livingston and Lily Huber. Not pictured, Liz McDowell.

The Maquoketa Valley Individual Events Speech Teams began their contest season Saturday, Feb. 27 at MVHS. Both the 10th through 12th grade and the ninth grade teams did very well.

The 10th-12th grade team received 34 Division 1 ratings, including: Abbie Sheehy (prose), Erin Knipper (prose), McKenna Thompson (reviewing and public address), Amanda Mohr (reviewing), Amaya Hunt (reviewing), Paige Panosh (spontaneous speaking and acting), Logan Johnson (spontaneous speaking and radio news announcing), Molly Anderegg (solo musical theatre and acting), Andrew Kloser (public address and storytelling), Allie Dunn (public address and expository address), Carlie Lewin (original oratory), Kaela Clemen (original oratory and poetry), Kendra Hillers (original oratory), Emma Beitz (improvisation), Noah DeVore (improvisation and acting), Keziah Ambundo (improvisation), Madeline Gellersen (expository address), Liz McDowell (expository address and acting), Ashtyn Porter (poetry), Brock Trenkamp (after dinner speaking and radio news announcing), Anna Deutmeyer (after dinner speaking), Preston Roling (radio news announcing), Carissa Sabers (storytelling), and Kylie Chesnut (storytelling).

Obtaining Division 2 ratings for the 10th-12th grade team were: Paige Winter (prose), Emma Beitz (spontaneous speaking), Keziah Ambundo (solo musical theatre), Saige Hunt (poetry), Emma Ritz (after dinner speaking), Matthew Brehm (literary program), Carlie Lewin (literary program), and Emilee Supple (literary program).

Two of the events on the ninth grade team secured Division 1 ratings: George Livingston (spontaneous speaking) and Josie Teymer (expository address); and three events acquired Division 2 ratings: George Livingston (prose), Lily Huber (poetry), and Katilyn Nolan (storytelling).

Those receiving a Division 1 rating advanced to the state competition. The State Individual Speech contest will be held Saturday, March 13 at MV.