Beckman’s 2021 varsity baseball team: front from left, JT Recker, Matthew Florence, Nick Schmidt, Luke Schieltz, Owen Huehnergarth and Luke Sigwarth; second row, Aiden Bagge, Ryan Burchard, Lane Kramer, Cam Krapfl, Logan Burchard and Jackson Oberbroeckling; back row, coach Fred Martin, Cayden Gassmann, Rob Kronlage, Michael Dinan, Bryce Boekholder, Wyatt Schulte, assistant coaches Jimmy Boeckenstedt and Eric Recker. Not pictured, Nick Offerman and Nate Offerman, who were at state golf; and Max Mullis.

Now that soccer, track and golf are over, the Beckman baseball team is ready to start its 2021 season with a full roster of players.

No less than 12 players missed various practices for the spring sports and forced the postponement of their season-opening game at Hempstead. But everyone is now available for the baseball season, including five returning starters and five letterwinners. The starting five include seniors Nick Offerman (OF/P), Cam Krapfl (1B/P), Bryce Boekholder (IF/P), junior Owen Huehnergarth (C/P) and soph Nate Offerman (IF/P). Other letterwinners are juniors Logan Burchard (IF/P), Ryan Burchard (OF/P) and Nick Schmidt (UT/P), sophomores Luke Schieltz (OF) and Jackson Oberbroeckling (OF/P).

Head coach Fred Martin enters his fifth year at the helm, (19th year total), and welcomes some promising newcomers in juniors Max Mullis (OF), JT Recker (UT/P) and Lane Kramer (UT/P).

Martin feels the strengths of this year’s team lie in their contact hitting, the overall depth and “the game experience from many players on last year’s team. Our biggest concern is the lack of a true number one starting pitcher.”

He calls the WaMaC as “tough as it’s ever been. Every night will be a battle to the end. Marion, Solon, Maquoketa, CCA and Independence are all much improved.”

Other players on the roster include juniors Aiden Bagge (IF), Wyatt Schulte (3B/P), sophomores Cayden Gassmann (OF), Michael Dinan (UT/P) and Rob Kronlage (OF/P) and freshmen Matthew Florence (C/OF) and Luke Sigwarth (IF/P).

Martin is assisted this year by Jimmy Boeckenstedt and Eric Recker.