Three local coaches were recently recognized by the Iowa Association of Track Coaches.

Beckman’s Todd Troutman and Ryan Meissner received the honor in Class 2A as Girls At-Large Coaches of the Year.

“This award is definitely an award for the entire staff. Coach Meissner and myself along with Jimmy Boeckenstedt, Ty Troutman and Mark Atwater, were all part of a staff that was lucky enough to work with some incredibly talented and motivated athletes,” Troutman said.

“It is the performances of the athletes that lead to this type of recognition and our athletes certainly had some outstanding performances. It was a lot of fun being there to watch these kids perform at such high levels,” he added.

Western Dubuque’s Tom Jasper was recognized in Class 4A as a Boys At-Large Coach of the Year.

“The selection for an At-Large Coach of the Year is more than a one-person award,” Jasper said. “There are many recipients for this. First, I have the privilege to coach with a top-notch staff who is as passionate about improving the kids on the track as they are in improving them in life. Next, our parents are absolutely fantastic and provide unyielding support throughout the season. Lastly, the accomplishment is about our athletes. Day-in and day-out our athletes put in grueling work to perfect their crafts.”

The Class 2A Girls State Coach of the Year was Chris Tyler, of Mid-Prairie. Troutman, Meissner, Tim Frake (Cascade), Alex Pollock (Aplington-Parkersburg), Greg Thompson (Panorama) and Jim Obermann (Crestwood) were all recognized as At-Large Coaches of the Year.

The Class 4A Boys State Coach of the Year was Tom Trygstad, of West Des Moines Valley. Jasper, David Terronez (Bettendorf), Ben Duea (Ames), Brent Heitland (Waukee) and Matt Jaschen (Johnston) all were named At-Large Coaches of the Year.