Maquoketa Valley's state runner-up team receives its awards at the 2021 Class 1A State Cross Country Meet, in Fort Dodge, Oct. 30. From left, George Livingston, Matthew Schaul, Nolan Ries, Cy Huber, Michael Schaul, Arion Rave, Toby Grimm, coach Sara Dever and coach Pat Meehan.

A pair of top-15 finishes helped Maquoketa Valley earn a runner-up finish in the Class 1A State Cross Country Meet at Lakeside Municipal Golf Course in Fort Dodge, Oct. 30.

The finish was the best by the Wildcats in recent years. They finished sixth in 2020, fifth in 2019 and seventh in 2018.

Cy Huber, a senior, was MV’s lead runner. He earned a ninth-place medal with a time of 16:56. Nolan Ries, also a senior, earned a 12th-place medal with a clocking of 16:59. Rounding out the scoring was senior Michael Schaul (32nd, 17:36), sophomore Michael Livingston (60th, 18:02) and freshman Matthew Schaul (75th, 18:16). Freshman Arion Rave and sophomore Toby Grimm placed 96th (18:40) and 147th (20:10), respectively.

Huber, Ries, Michael Schaul all bettered their 2020 state runs by 30 seconds or more. Grimm bettered his 2020 state time by almost two minutes.

ACGC won the boys’ Class 1A team title with 75 points. Maquoketa Valley scored 112 for second place. Earlham was third (134), Valley Lutheran fourth (161), Pella Christian fifth (178), Bellevue sixth (198), Central Decatur seventh (199), Iowa City Regina eighth (202), Woodbine Community ninth (234), Fort Dodge, St. Edmond 10th (241), Ogden 11th (255), Central Springs 12th (263), Cascade 13th (297), Council Bluffs, St. Albert 14th (305), Mason City Newman 15th (307) and Columbus Junction 16th (314).

The top-15 medalists were: first — Jayden Dickson, Earlham, 16:06; second — Dominic Braet, Earlham, 16:18; third — Isaac Natvig, Valley Lutheran; fourth — Tevin Suhr, ACGC, 16:23; fifth — Payton Griebel, 16:40; sixth — Bryce McDonough, Central Springs, 16:46; seventh — Ethan Loutzenheiser, Madrid, 16:48; eighth — Colin Lillie, St. Albert, 16:54; ninth — Huber, MV, 16:56; 10th — Patrick Heffernen, Boyer Valley, 16:58; 11th — Isaiah Kruckman, South Winneshiek, 16:59; 12th — Ries, MV, 16:59; 13th — Bryson Grove, English Valleys, 17:00; 14th — Aidan O’Neil, Iowa City Regina, 17:01; and 15th — Noah Valenzuela.