Four top-10 finishes helped Maquoketa Valley’s boys’ cross country team earn the team title at the Independence Invitational, Sept. 26.

Cy Huber led the Wildcats with a third-place finish in 18:39. Nolan Ries was fourth (18:49), Michael Schaul sixth (19:40), Mitch Heims ninth (20:01) and Landin Frasher 31st (21:16). Brock Trenkamp was 39th (22:00).

Co-coach Sara Dever was pleased with the Wildcats’ effort despite their times. “(The) finishing times weren’t impressive because of the challenging terrain and long course, but our effort was solid.”

The Wildcats tallied 47 points for the title. New Hampton was second (53), Oelwein third (56), Vinton-Shellsburg fourth (111), Postville fifth (128), Independence sixth (145) and Edgewood-Colesburg seventh (157).

In the girls’ junior varsity race, Allison Hogan was 10th (31:56), Zari Amundo 11th (32:14), Jordan Hogan 12th (32:36) and Cecily Trenkamp 14th (35:09).

Toby Grimm led MV in the boys’ junior varsity race with a third-place finish in 21:38. Caleb Livingston was 15th (25:01) and George Livingston 28th (27:43).

Taryn Burbridge had a great race for the junior high girls, winning in 16:45. McKenna Bush was 22nd (20:56) and Emily Rudd 29th (23:30).

“Taryn came away with the win in a dramatic fashion, taking over the lead in the last 400 meters,” Dever explained.

Arion Rave raced to second in the boys’ junior high race in 15:16. Dexter Dietiker was 16th (17:23), Matthew Schaul 17th (17:25), Brady Eike 22nd (18:14) and Sebastian Charles 47th (30:17).